BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
638 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi all. I have been visiting this great forum for seven months now, but this is my first post. i brought a 99 e39 m5 from a bm dealer last july and i knew then that the outer rims had been touched up. unfortunately, the rims now look awful with hand car washes having taken there toll (never again) and the mrs (kerbing). The dealer has kindly offered to get the rims done again, but i have talked to lots of mobile techs who say the paint will eventually rub off again.

I have thus found this place called lepsons in gillingham who will refurbish the wheels incl an oven bake for 70+VAT per wheel on a one day turnaround (55 if you give them the wheels for three days).

Has anyone any experience of lepsons?
The guy has asked me how heavy i want the silver layer sprayed - to make the wheels look light, dark or even both. what would u recommend? the car is silverstone blue with sun proctetion glass at the back.

the car is booked for the 8 march, i will post before and after pics if anyone else needs their wheels done.

·
Registered
287 Posts
I'm in the a similar situation, where the previous owner had tangled with the curb too many times.

I'm not sure how good a job they will do in only one day. I would guess you'd back in the same situation in 12 months. A cheap solution maybe to go for replicas....to be honest, there's been lots of discussions about alloys on eBay, and how to tell if they are replica's or not. Bottom line is it's pretty hard to tell without taking the wheel off and looking for a part stamp ( I'm waiting for someone to correct me here! )

OEM wheels from a dealer are £1800....I'd be so p**sed if I curbed them. I still can't make up my mind.......