BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2,094 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys.

I previously searched your guys methods to remove water stains/spots and just tried to remove them on my truck. I washed the car, clayed the hood, washed and they were still there (a little better). How many times do you need to clay the surface? Do you wash, clay, wash, clay, etc..... until the spots are gone. This is my first time, usually I just pay someone to detail the car but the water spots are REALLLLY bad and wanted to give it a go myself. Any insight is appreciated.

Is it possible that the stains are the type II that require a more aggressive treatment? The car in question is my Escalade that gets hit with the sprinklers all the time. The spots have been there for months. Is this a problem?

I used Mcguires products.

TIA.

Michael

·
Registered
9,355 Posts
As far as I know, claying will remove debris (brake dust, carbon, tree sap, etc) but not those water spots. For that, you need a sort of polishing compound with a pad and some elbow greease or a polisher.

I recommend Adam's Polishes' Swirl and Haze Remover. That thing works beautifully. I was able to get glass from a truck that's been outside for years looking brand new again, and without a polisher. Just apply generously, 25 strokes vertically, and 25 strokes horizontally.

·
Registered
274 Posts
A cleaner wax works well for them. I use the wax shop stuff. Swirl removers will work too.

Reactions: Michael_s

·
Registered
6,520 Posts
As mentioned, clay is only effective on surface contaminants. Water stains are actually a physical defect of the paint and therefore require a cleaner, polish, or rubbing compound depending on severity...

d-

·
Registered
2,094 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks guys. I will go to the store or order via the internet and try again. I guess I'll try Adams or Imperial as recommended by the above posts.

·
Registered
2,094 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·