BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As I mentioned in an earlier post (http://www.bmwm5.com/ubb/Forum1/HTML/000990.html), attached is a link to a video of a lap in my M5 @ Thunderhill Raceway. I have very little experience in recording and editing videos, so this is the best I can do for now. The windows were down on the car and the camera was mounted off the rear deck, so unfortunately there is not much engine/exhaust sound to be heard. You will however hear plenty of tire squeal (Dunlops). The Porsche in the video is a 1996 C4S.
http://www.benefitsinfo.org/baby/arlen/M5_Thunderhill.mpg

·
Registered
1,461 Posts
Sweet!! I don't want to give it away for anyone who hasn't seen it, but I was hoping the footage wouldn't end. Nice driving.. you could definitely hear the nice engine roar near the end of the video.

·
Registered
1,850 Posts
NICE DRIVING !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

·
Registered
2,723 Posts
What a great ride. We enjoyed it a lot. Wish we were there. How long was that straight where you topped 125MPH.

Thanks for the post and your hard driving.

------------------
Jim
07/00 M5 Titanium over Red

·
Registered
112 Posts
Way cool driving and way cool video!

Now, I have visited http://www.thunderhill.com. They say they are 1 hour north of Sacramento. The website also has track map, too. Looks like part of it was an old airfield.

I got a couple of questions, and would appreciate it if you could help me answer them:

1. What else is required besides a helmet and a decent driving skill? Do they require you to have a harness, or taking their class before entering it?

2. I looked at the track calendar. Which day did you go? For "open test"?

Given that I live about 2 hrs. southwest of Sacramento (in the bay area), I think the optimal way to have fun is actually to drive up there on Thursday night and spend a night there and get up early for Friday session. :)

·
Registered
412 Posts
Roger,