BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all! I have been reading through endless Vanos threads on the forum, but haven't seen an issue quite like this; I'd like to ask your advice.

I have a 2000 M5 with 70k miles, and it has been running flawlessly for 2.5 years. I have had a CEL light on for a few months, but no issue with running. I also get a slight rattle during cold start, but once the pressure builds up in the chain tensioner, it quickly dissipates. Just recently, it began starting hard, mainly when warm, like the vanos is not returning the timing to optimal starting timing. I haven't witness a hard, cold start yet. It is setting a couple codes related to Bank1 cam timing.

My hubby owns an Indy shop, but doesn't want to get into the fine art of Vanos timing. I am a mechanical engineer, and would have no problems with many of the minor repairs, like replacing the timing chain tensioner (which I should have done a long time ago). I know these are bad from my old M3 days, when I replaced it twice on my E30 M3.

One other thing I have noticed on this car, is the tone from the exhaust is deeper while driving, sometimes. I like that sound better, but the car only achieve that about once every five trips or so. Is there some exhaust valve that allows this to happen? Am I missing something?

Thanks for the excellent M5 board! I will continue to pour through previous posts. Any help would be appreciated.

·
Registered
1,531 Posts
F the exhaust sound deep and rumbling like an American muscle, it usually points Crank position sensors or vanos. You may want to do a vanos test to figure out what's going on. My exhaust was less deep sounding when I had someone to do vanos solenoids refreshment. I would replace the guides to be sure it's not affecting the timing.

Bank one should be on right side.

I meant camshaft position sensors (2 intake and 2 exhaust).

Reactions: M3shelly

·
Registered
71 Posts