BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3,968 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
just took the plunge and did the ESS vt550 kit on the m5. im a complete noob to the whole FI world and looking for some info from the pro's out there... you guys know who you are :) been doing a bit of research on over the last few days and read that its a good idea to run a slightly colder plug. so yesterday a picked up a set of ngk bkr7eix iridium plugs, one range colder than the bkr6eix spec'd for the s62. installed and indexed them. also installed some new pre cat 02's.

just looking for any tips, info, do's/don'ts, what to look out for in terms of issues etc. i said from the start that one thing i wanted for sure was to maintain stock like reliability. not looking to go over the top or stress the engine too much. i don't plan on adding intercoolers or meth etc at this point in the game. maybe down the road if i was to rebuild the engine but not anytime in the distant future.

so a few questions,

1 fuel pump, the car has around 75k on her. been reading its recommended to replace the fuel pump when installing the kit. does the setup really stress the fuel pump beyond what a stock engine does? filter is new.

2 would like to install a boost gauge next, recommendations?

3 fuel recommendations, i assume the higher octane the better? boosters?

i'd also like some input from anyone running the vt550 kit or similar as to any tweaks or mods you've made, install issues, etc. thanks.

·
Registered
3,782 Posts