BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
I am a novice M5 driver. I just bought my 03' E39 m5. I love my car but am still getting used to it.

I have a big problem with launching the car from stand still. I always find that I am among the slowest off the blocks, since I feel I am being overly careful with the shifting.

One of the members on the forum, tonya had pointed out the following as a good way to shift.

(quoting tonya)
1. Assume we are in gear with the clutch out and accelerating with full throttle.
2. Just before the rev-limiter would have kicked in, simultaneously fully depress the clutch and fully release the throttle.
3. Carefully shift into the next gear.
4. Let out the clutch pedal very quickly.
5. As quickly as possible after 4, fully depress the throttle.

However when I try to do this, I find that there is a substantial jerk between steps 4 and 5.

The above tips were anyway new and useful to me, since traditionally I always used to start pressing the accelerator even before my foot was not completely off the clutch. (which I am told is a sure way to damage the clutch)

I use a similar technique while launching the car as well.

Can someone please go over the sequence of how they launch their car from say 0-40 or 50 as would be the case with regard to most traffic signals? In a way that would be sufficiently fast and jerk free. This is not from a racing perspective but from a general driving perspective.
In particular I am very slow in the shift from 1st to 2nd gear and during that time cars behind me get very close to me..which seems like a dangerous driving flaw in my technique.

Some help would be appreciated so that I don't fall behind all the automatics :)

Jon

·
Registered
187 Posts
Jonsid,

The rules are the same for any car - beast included. The fastest drivers are the ones who a re the smoothest with their inputs.