BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
282 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This M5 is located close to me in Sacramento, CA. The guy is asking $6k for the car as is. 135k miles. I haven't looked at the car in person yet. Don't know if he is on this board or not.

My questions is: At $6k + repairs (he thinks $3k, I am thinking more without even seeing it), you're at $9k - $10k (ish). I am a decent mechanic and certain that I can do almost all of the work. Is this worth the trouble or just keep shopping for a clean title car and a better provenance?

Here is the car:
M5 e39

·
Registered
1,624 Posts
Not worth it. You can buy clean title 135k cars for that money. Even if they need work, at least they have a clean title. A salvage title is all kinds of bad.

Especially with damage to the front.

·
Registered
3,337 Posts
Here's a great car for you, even if I say so myself. :rofl:

Reactions: AGM5

·
Registered
1,548 Posts
I wouldn't do it, bud. I don't think a salvage title is an awful thing on its own. You can get great deals on them with little wrong.

That will cost more than 3K to repair, I can promise you. If you have to paint a hood that will cost you $1k right there.

Keep looking.

·
Registered
6,632 Posts
Run away! At 6K plus probably, $5K or more for the repairs, you can pick up a good example for a little bit more or a great example from GBPackerfan1963.

·
Registered
282 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Yes, I really guess I knew that. I do love a project and I can easily talk myself into such things. I really don't want to spend more than 20k, but if I can get in at a lower price point with some work, that would be ok. My achilles heel is body work though. I'm just not set up for it.

·
Registered
6,632 Posts

·
Registered
146 Posts
I had a 530I (2002) get rear ended. The damage looked way less then that and was around 6k to repair.
I would run away from that car and not look back unless you were using it for parts.

·
Registered