BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
187 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'll say up front that I don't know a lot about car design and modifications - however I am an engineer and feel like I have a valid question/comment about strut braces.

Looking at pictures of the front brace on one of the after-market guys it occurred to me that there was no benefit to bolting one of those things on. The question I have is, what possible direction is it strengthening the car ??

The only thing I am sure of is that it keeps the tops of the struts the same distance from each other, but I doubt if that's the problem it's advertised to fix.

Any architect will tell you that the triangle shape is what you use for strength, but the strut brace completes a square-ish shape which still allows all kinds of deformation.

I'm very skeptical of the benefits and it clearly adds weight. Now if you could bolt an "X" shaped piece (four triangles) you might be getting somewhere. As for me, when my car gets here ('01 - December build), I'm keeping it as-is.

I'd appreciate any comments from the group.

·
Registered
1,856 Posts
Depends on the car.

If the front strut towers are beefy and directly attached to the firewall, a strut tower brace doesn't do much.

If they're dangling out in the front sheetmetal somewhere, it should help somewhat.

Your point about design is well taken, though: a simple bar that extends across the strut towers isn't nearly so much help as one that triangulates into the cowl area.

·
Registered
187 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Gem,

Thanks for the reply. I guess there are too many variables to make a good decision... did BMW put the right amount of support in the frame for the towers, did they account for flex under load when they designed the suspension geometry and how hard are you intending to drive the car.

Oh well, I can't wait to have a "test bed" of my own to play around with.

·
Moderator Emeritus
10,698 Posts