BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1,316 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
(puts on flame suit)

Guys/Gals,
I've been avoiding this subject for several months...well, actually a couple of years...and I've finally made a decision.

I've got a project that needs to get done, and requires garage space to complete. I don't believe I can fit the project AND both M's in the garage without really making it cramped to work on the project OR the cars, so I've decided to move the M5 outside while I work on the project.

I will likely work on the project until the weather turns in the fall, at which time I will either store the project for the winter, or have it complete enough that I can work in the cramped space...

So, all that said, on to the root of this post. Does anybody have any suggestions for me for keeping the car outside? I have a cover, but I don't know if I should cover it in the rain, or if dew gets on the cover, etc. Do I just need to give her a good wax before I leave her out at night???

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

:cheers:

·
10,458 Posts
I had purchased a cover from california car covers (internet place, can't remember url) for my 528 when i bought the M5. It was a nice lightweight material that really kept the car clean and dry. One of those new fangled high tech materials, like you'd have on a ski jacket. It really did work, you could hose it off and the car would be dry underneath. If you M5 sits for a few days at a time, this is a nice option. If you drive it daily and it gets dirty, you don't want to cover a dirty car, so the hassle factor goes up exponentially. You'd need to use a duster at least to wipe the car down before covering it. also a pita to put a cover on if it's at all windy.
Mike

oh, and don't worry, i won't judge you for leaving the m5 outside.... ouich

·
Registered
12,398 Posts