BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

Problem starting a 1991 E34 M5. From the research I've done it seems the problem might be a bad ground from the engine to the chassis. I turn the key and the car won't start, but if I keep the key turned after about 10-20 seconds the car finally starts right away. It seems to get worse after a hot day. I'm not a mechanic so I'd like some opinions from the experts. Any other ideas of what the issue could be or am I on the right track? Also is replacing these wires relatively straight-forward? Thank you.

·
Registered
3,327 Posts
Funny: I have the same problem! If the car has been shut down shortly after idling while (fuel/smoke-stop right after "no darling, I'm not spending the night here to find myself in 2,5 hours of traffic in the morning, so MOVE!!!") it won't turn over. When the key is inserted and the car started immediately it will also take 3 or 4 seconds before the starter engages, but if you turn on the ignition, wait 2 secs (seatbelt, put phone in cradle, etc) it will engage the starter immediately after twisting the key further....... I'm puzzled!!!!!

jamilor said:
Hello,

Problem starting a 1991 E34 M5. From the research I've done it seems the problem might be a bad ground from the engine to the chassis. I turn the key and the car won't start, but if I keep the key turned after about 10-20 seconds the car finally starts right away. It seems to get worse after a hot day. I'm not a mechanic so I'd like some opinions from the experts. Any other ideas of what the issue could be or am I on the right track? Also is replacing these wires relatively straight-forward? Thank you.

·
Registered
373 Posts