BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
404 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I started developing the following issue:

While going WOT from 60 mph in 4th, 5th, 6th, or 7th gear, I get this strange sensation that my rear tries break loose, the car revs freely by 800 rpm, then catches itself back and continues to accelerate normally… This only happens between 4000 and 5000 rpm. I also get a yellow warning cog after that happens (though not always). If I keep my RPMs at 6000-7000 rpm and nail it, I get no issues at all while rowing through the gears… This problem only occurs between 4000-5000 rpm.

Anyone else experienced this problem before? I have 120,000 km on the odometer, but the car has never been tracked/dragged and I am a pretty tame driver (I rarely go into S6 and I only used the crippled launch control 2 times). I took the car to the dealer and after the initial diagnostic they said that it might be my clutch. They said that for them to know for sure they would have to drop the transmission and do a visual inspection ($1,200 in labour). My car is CPO, but the warranty does not cover the clutch/flywheel assembly (wear and tear). Could it just be the clutch sensor?

Any thoughts? Thanks.

·
Registered
404 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
That's what I thought! The car acts normal after 6,000 rpm and shifts are nice and firm...

·
Registered
311 Posts
trouble is with the dealer is that once the tranny down they will find any odd excuse to replace the clutch and probably flywheel aswell

·
Registered
404 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yeah thats why I am not sure what to do… I don't trust the dealer.

·
Registered
404 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Anyone?

·
Registered
404 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
I haven't tried the clutch adaptation yet. I'll give it a shot. Also, OBD reader is not producing any codes...

·
Registered
422 Posts