BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Strongly considering an E60 M5 and took one local to me for a spin. Under 30k miles, 2010 that appears to be in great shape. The shift speeds even in S5 or S6 full throttle with full power enabled still had a noticeable lag. Long enough to feel like I could have matched or beaten the speed with a 6MT. I'm new to SMGIII but drove an E46 M3 with SMG for 5 years. This was nowhere near as fast as in the E46 where a full throttle shift would snap your head in S5 or 6. It has been a while since I had my E46 but just really surprised me.

Any thoughts on what I could be doing wrong or if it would suggest an issue with the tranny?

·
Registered
5,673 Posts
Sounds like the transmission needs an adaptation (sensor calibration) performed. I also moved from an E46 M3 to the E60 M5 and the SMG 3 is much, much faster when properly dialed in.

·
Registered
759 Posts
What you describe is not right. At high RPM and well into the throttle, the SMG will snap the gears (and your neck). But you must keep the foot well into the gas. If you lift, it will slow down the shift. Best to just keep the pedal all the way to the floor, past the detent, for fastest shifts.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks guys. For the E46 you could reset adaptation by pulling both paddles for a few seconds while going at least a certain speed (exact process I cannot recall right now.) anything similar for the E60 or are you referring to reprogramming the SMG module?

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
What you describe is not right. At high RPM and well into the throttle, the SMG will snap the gears (and your neck). But you must keep the foot well into the gas. If you lift, it will slow down the shift. Best to just keep the pedal all the way to the floor, past the detent, for fastest shifts.
I made sure to push past the detent several times since it was so damned slow. Just seemed odd.