BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, i'm a newbie to this forum but came on recommendation from rennlist.com Ok, i already know that advice is worth what you pay for it but what I'm really looking for sage experience here!

I've got a 96 993 and it's everything I'd hope it would be- fantastic driver and wouldn't trade it for anything. So now we've got a little one (read: baby!) on the way and my wife says it's time to get a second 4 seater. (Don't worry, we're going to trade in our pickup!). But the choices I've been eyeing are a Surburban type (GM/Caddy, etc), a Cayenne S, or a late model M5 (prob 2000-2003).

So, i'm just curious if you guys have experienced these other rides and pass along your experiences with your M5 versus these other choices. I realize these are apples to oranges- i mean I drove a Denali and Cayenne and M5 and all are very different. But I'm particularly intersted in M5 drivers that maybe have owned other SUV/Cayenne/Surburban and can offer your experiences? I just got back from driving a 2002 M5 and it had spirit (394 hp!) but felt less visceral 993 (282 hp). However, i was most impressed with it! I know you can't really compare a Surburban from a 5 series, but both have 4 seats, carry a car seat. So it comes down to weighing pure fun (5 series) versus storage (surburban) versus a combo (Cayenne)- i think.
Thoughts are graciously welcome!

thanks all....

jeff

·
Registered
1,558 Posts
Jeff... welcome, congrats and hopefully I can shed some light.
You're right.. you are comparing radically different things. Your 993 is much more of a "track car" than the 4,000 pound car we love so much... That said the M5 is probably the greatest sports sedan ever...