BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am in Nevada. Guys, do we know good, reputable builders on the west coast or near me? Korman and MM are too far :(

Thanks!

·
Registered
101 Posts
what about Frank Fahey ?
Doesn't he have an excellent reputation as in top notch ?

I have no personal experience, just what I have gleaned from various sources of news and information.

San Diego area unless I'm mistaken.

·
Registered
906 Posts
My opinion using Frank Fahey is a bit scary...

Why ? His prices are with UFO galactic range... If you sent your engine there be ready to spent 5K $ each week! And when he calls you in the middle of the week it will be to bring more money...

A good friend of mine sent his S38-B36 engine to Metric Mechanic few year back for rebuild. His bill was 7,500$ Seven-Thousand-five-hundred US $$$... When he got the engine hear in LA I asked him to show me what they did changed during rebuild. Piston rings, bearings set, head job guides, few valves (because they were bent), all gaskets and that was it!

If your budget is open which I doubt... go for it !

He does good quality work !

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Yeah, I know! MM quoted me 12500! Crazy.

Any others - I just want somebody with experience, don't need a stroker kit or anything like that! Just a quality rebuild back to spec.

So the quest remains! Any other variants in near LA?

·
10,458 Posts
there's a story on the board of a member who had a fahey rebuild that failed around the 30k mile mark, and used much oil in the mean time.

He later had the engine rebuilt again at Avus autosport, so cal, i belleve they're a board advertiser, and had good results.

·
Registered
763 Posts
My opinion using Frank Fahey is a bit scary...

Why ? His prices are with UFO galactic range... If you sent your engine there be ready to spent 5K $ each week! And when he calls you in the middle of the week it will be to bring more money...