BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought my M5 used, it has rpi scoops installed by a previous owner.
It did not have block off plates and still had the paper filters and the charcoal filters.
Last week I added the plates and bmc filters and removed the charcoal filters.

My questions are...
The factory setup was already a ram air type, or not?
Air goes in the front bumper holes and to the air box, so how is the rpi setup better?

Why block off the factory tube? Wouldn't that be extra air?

With it blocked off, doesn't it then just trap air, maybe it should be blocked at the front to avoid catching air?

Could the factory intake in the bumper be directed to an area it could help in some way, maybe keep something else cooler?

I have less than a month of ownership and knowledge of the M5, I'm still learning about this car.

·
Registered
689 Posts
Take that crap off your car and get the HP back "up to" 500. It isn't worth messing with the stock paper filters or charcoal filters as they are better for your car. The stock car is more efficient and powerful without all of the after market garbage. The block-off plates rob you of air to your intake and take away power. The scoops are doing nothing except look cool (if you happen to like the look).

·
Registered
162 Posts
I don't believe a dyno run measure with a fan that may simulate 20mph of airflow is enough to convince me that the scoops have any noticeable effect at real highway speeds.

At 20mph air pressure hasn't begun to build up at the front of the radiator, which will force air into the stock airbox ducts.

Later, Steve

·
Registered
1,306 Posts