BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, I just recently joined M5 Board out of my curiosity with the E39 M5. I'm fairly new to BMWs, (my dad owned a E39 528i). Ever since I have driven an E39 M5, even though it was a short distance, I have been saving up to purchase one. One of the problems is that I cannot find the M5 that I personally want. I am just curious on what is the price range for a E39 M5 with anywhere from 90-130k miles, preferably anything over the 2000 model,(I just don't want to deal with all the mechanical VANOS issues and would rather have the bigger head unit screen. I'm not picky on cosmetics, not everything has to be 100% perfect, if it has a small dent or a few scratches or a small tear in a seat it isn't that big of a deal. I'm willing to learn about the S62 engine and prepared to take on maintenance expenses on the car. Colors im not really picky, preferably black or silver. Basically the car I am looking for is a 80-130k mileage car, black or silver, and a 2001-2003 model. Thanks :)

·
Registered
421 Posts
A bit of searching would yield some results...

It sounds from your post like you are looking to find a mechanically sorted but cosmetically rough example. This is not something you are likely to come across on this board. Should you find and buy an example meeting your criteria, you are likely to discover that owners who neglect their cars cosmetically tend to do the same mechanically. When you uncover the inevitable issues, this board will be your friend to help diagnose/source parts/address those issue(s).

I would say you are looking at 16-20k for a well sorted example on the lower end of your mileage. Less than that as mileage/issues/known deferred maintenance/unknowns increase. Rough examples can go for as little as 7k but you get what you pay for - parts for these cars still aren't cheap to get one running correctly.

//end rant. Good luck with your search.