BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4,077 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm considering a job offer in Durham, NC. I'm not sure I will take it yet, but what do you guys do with your M5 in the winter? Drive it anyway? Snow tires? Forget about it and drive the SUV? Mine is a daily driver currently.

Thanks.

·
Registered
489 Posts
I'm a student at Wake Forest University and if you're not familiar with Wake or NC it is in Winston-Salem, NC about an hour west of the Raleigh/Durham area. My M5 spends most of its time at my home in Atlanta though and I keep a 3 series here at school to drive. I've expereicned two winters up here so far and its my opinion that you wouldn't have trouble driving your M5 here in the winter. The winters are very mild and we dont receive much snow at all. In my experience there hasn't been a need to put winter tires on or anything like that. This year in Winston we didn't get but a dusting of snow. Raleigh had a freak, one day storm and got maybe 5ish inches (if I remember correctly), but it only lasted a day before it melted. I have been able to get everywhere I needed to go in my car with normal tires no matter what time of year. In NC, and the South in general, the scary part is not the weather... In this part of the world we don't know how to drive in snow since its only around for a few hours/days a year, so the problem is the drivers, not the weather.

KevinM said:
I'm considering a job offer in Durham, NC. I'm not sure I will take it yet, but what do you guys do with your M5 in the winter? Drive it anyway? Snow tires? Forget about it and drive the SUV? Mine is a daily driver currently.

Thanks.

·
Registered
4,077 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Vossen10 said: