BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone tried the new Pulstar sparkplugs (www.pulstarplug.com)? I plan to install a set tomorrow on my beast. I'll give you a report on the effects. Btw...does anyone know the recommended plug gap. These come pregapped at .045 but I'm sure that this is not correct for the E39 M5.

·
Registered
92 Posts
The stock plugs (NGK BKR6EQUP) come gapped at .032" and are not adjustable. I believe the Pulstar BE-1 is the closest equivalent for our cars. They come gapped at .030"
[Source: www.sparkplugs.com]

Would be interested to hear your experience with these plugs.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I have been running them for 2 1/2 months. My initial impression is that the throttle response is improved and the engine ran smoother from cold startup. It took a tank of gas for the electronics to adapt. I have noticed a 1 mile/gallon improvement. I have tracked the car twice (Buttonwillow and Cal Speedway). Everything has worked fine and there is a small but noticeable improvement in power.

Are they worth the $? I would say yes.

·
Registered
4,515 Posts
Doug,

Good to hear your car runs better with fresh spark plugs. :dunno:

Most cars will run measurably better with fresh plugs of any type. You could also switch from low mile $14.00 ea premium iridiums to $0.35 ea standard copper tip plugs (like most racers prefer) and experience similar results. My point is, comparing fresh plugs to used plugs provides absolutely no insight into the merits of this product.