BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
214 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Afternoon Board.

Newbie here. Are there alternative pricings available for the Powerchip Gold 93? Their website shows a price of $990. I was wondering several things;

1. Is it available less expensively elsewhere?

2. Is it a noticeable improvement? (we can get 101 Octane here in the midwest, not as many tree huggers and fish squeezers to contend with):D

3. Is it difficult to install?

Thanks much Board!

KCD

·
Registered
2,817 Posts
Hi kcdoyle,

The company used to offer fiftybucks off if M5BOARD.COM was mentioned. It's worth a try.

They shipped me a notebook computer with preinstalled software and a cable. It's easy enough - it's all software - so you are basically overwriting your OEM programming. Supposedly, powerchip (the company) keeps your old software on-file and will send you the laptop again if you need to restore your original software. Personally, I liked the "old days" when the programming was on a removable chip (EPROM), and you could pop your OEM chip back in at any time.

I don't remember actually "feeling it", but rather, did mine mostly to get rid of cold-related uneven running.
:cheers:

·
Registered
3,469 Posts
KCD

Used to be you get $100 off for being a board member. May still be the case. Never hurt to ask.

It is the best mod for the $$ IMHO.

The only difficulty is finding a lap-top with parallel and serial ports. Most don't have these ports as everything is USD these days. :(

Good luck. I am a firm believer of the Power Chip. It is a great product.

CP

·
Registered
2,817 Posts
chunpng said:
...Used to be you get $100 off for being a board member...
Maybe it was $100 ???? That's better yet.

·
10,445 Posts
chunpng said:
KCD

The only difficulty is finding a lap-top with parallel and serial ports. Most don't have these ports as everything is USD these days. :(

CP