BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello everyone, I suppose I should introduce myself!

My name is Logan, and I am a full time student and BMW gearhead! I've had a few e34's in the past, including an e34 540iA I swapped 5 speed. I have always missed my 540i, and have since owned an e30 and e39, but they just didn't do it for me like the e34.

Well, I have came across an European M5 that I would LOVE to have, as owning an E34 M5 has always been a dream car for me.

The car I am looking at has a stack of maintenance receipts dating back to 2002. Routine valve adjustments, gasket replacements, EDC deleted and replaced with Koni's and H&R, suspension/steering maintenance has been done...This car been looked after. 189,000 miles. The car does need a new power steering hose however.

I have owned e34's before, and am aware of the suspension and interior care these cars need. However, I have read a few horror stories of S38 failures that have me a bit worried. I have read of detonation at high RPM's or under a lot of load. I can afford to put money into maintenance, and am very capable of doing all the work myself. However, a catastrophic engine failure would leave me dead in the water for quite some time.

I have noticed most S38's have detonation on the 4th and 5th cylinder. I imagine from lean conditions. Is this something that happens often?

I do not beat on my vehicles, nor am I a speed demon, and would only rack up about 5,000 miles per year.

Here is the car in question, I believe it was an old member's car!

Thanks for any input you may have.

-A hopeful new M5 owner,

Logan

·
10,458 Posts