BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, I picked up my new M5 yesterday. After driving 30 miles I stopped and when I re-started the computer tells me it is time for my 1200 mile service. This is annoying enough but it means that P500 doesn't work - can't get it to switch back into this mode. Has anyone else had this?

Also - I'm new to SMG so I have a question. When you stop the car at lights, do you need to put the car into neutral or is it ok to sit there in 1?

Cheers
Joe

·
Registered
30 Posts
JoePhilipsz said:
Also - I'm new to SMG so I have a question. When you stop the car at lights, do you need to put the car into neutral or is it ok to sit there in 1?

Cheers
Joe
Well it depends. If you stay at lights for a second then don't put to N, if you have to wait more than 15 sec then put it to N. Usually when u stop more than 10-15 sec, then put it in N. Enjoy your new car.

Sank

·
Registered
13,638 Posts
Congrats Joe - what colour combination did you get?

·
Registered
256 Posts
Sank_ch said:
Well it depends. If you stay at lights for a second then don't put to N, if you have to wait more than 15 sec then put it to N. Usually when u stop more than 10-15 sec, then put it in N. Enjoy your new car.

Sank
Congrats on your new car. Why would you put it into neutral, it has the clutch disengaged, you do not need to do so, if you wish I guess you can, seems like a lot of effort when not required. I had SMGII for 4 years and never did it. I don't do it now with my M5 either.

·
Registered
30 Posts
1.NEON said:
Congrats on your new car. Why would you put it into neutral, it has the clutch disengaged, you do not need to do so, if you wish I guess you can, seems like a lot of effort when not required. I had SMGII for 4 years and never did it. I don't do it now with my M5 either.