BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 91 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Noob here looking to purchase a well sorted e60 m5. Couldn't find a definitive answer to this.

The consensus view seems to suggest BE rod bearings + ARP headbolts when replaceing OEM.

Are BE rod bearings a permanent solutions to wear issues? or do they need to be replaced every 60k miles or so.

Thanks,

·
Registered
231 Posts
Yes fixes it for good. I can assure you that question is answered a dozen places all over the forum.

·
Registered
313 Posts
I don't think it fixes it for good. I've yet to see enough data behind BE bearings and ARP bolts to bear conclusive confirmation. I've changed my bearings at ~70k and have put ~10k miles in 2 years. At the rate in which I should change it, I'll have owned it for 10 years. Which I don't think will be the case.

Just look at it as a maintenance item.

·
Registered
220 Posts
Are BE rod bearings a permanent solutions to wear issues?
I'm not convinced. We'd have to see, say, ten cars with BE bearings and 100k miles after the change and zero failures... and that won't happen any time soon.

That said, I'm happy that BE is your best bet.

I think it's very unlikely that the bolts make a damn bit of difference.

·
2,167 Posts
To keep this from becoming an oil discussion, let's stick to facts:

There are no rod bearing failures reported when using BE bearings. (There are however a couple engine failures shown to be installer error).
The few engines that have been disassembled after running with BE bearings have shown zero wear (I can think of 3 examples where photos have been posted).
BE provides a warranty with their bearings (can't seem to find the details at the moment tho).

On the other hand:
All BMW bearings show at least some wear, even the best examples like @Fiftytwoeighty.
All rod bearing failures have occurred with BMW bearings.

Bolts: