BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the M5, as well as 6 speeds. I was wondering what the optimal cruising RPM(freeway) is for our cars. :wroom:

Peace, Hector

·
Registered
13,016 Posts
Hector Lopez said:
I am new to the M5, as well as 6 speeds. I was wondering what the optimal cruising RPM(freeway) is for our cars. :wroom:

Peace, Hector
Hmm, optimum for what? Best gas mileage? Quickest from point A to point B? Not getting a ticket from the local constabulary? :) . For tradeoff between fuel economy and speed, I think the engine is happy around 2000rpm (didn't say it was the most fun). You can dial up the instantaneous consumption to measure. Of course, it is more fun to drive the car at the engine torque peak of 3800 in 6th gear!! :cheers:
Regards,
Jerry

·
Registered
2018 Alfa Romeo Giulia Quadrifoglio
72 Posts
Hey gsfent, I just bought my car from a place in west palm and had it shipped out to los angeles - nice area you guys have down there!

Hector, 2000-2300 rpm seems perfect for my car, anything under that produces exhaust drone - which I don't mind - but some may not like it.

-Matt

·
Registered
1,316 Posts
I run about 3k when I have others in the car. When I'm alone, I tend to run high 3's to around 4 so I get better throttle response when I want it

:noSMG:

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for the replies. I guess what I am asking is if you are going to be at steady rpm's for a long drive, where is the car the happiest, and running most efficiently?:)

Peace, Hector

·
Registered
13,016 Posts
Hector Lopez said:
at steady rpm's for a long drive, where is the car the happiest, and running most efficiently?:)

Peace, Hector
Hector,