BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
229 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
It's my first time doing an oil change on this particular car (2001 M5) and I'm a little confused.

I ordered this filter here: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001G6EY72/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o03_s01?ie=UTF8&psc=1

They looked close enough but when it came to replace the filter, it wouldn't fit. The top plastic nub prevents it from being seated properly as the original filter doesn't have this nub and is flat. Am I overlooking something here? I've tried to put in the filter both ways and seems that it should only fit one way and the plastic is preventing it from fitting.

I went to a local auto store to see if they had filters for my car and the one they said will fit also had the plastic nub on it. Also, the copper crush washer did not fit and was of the smaller size as well...

While were at it, where can I order a replacement plug? The bolt seems half way stripped from previous oil changes.

Thoughts?

Thanks in advance guys.

EDIT: I did try searching the forums for similar issues but I seem terrible at searching as I couldn't find anything.

·
Registered
1,432 Posts
The plastic part of the filter is supposed to clip into the oil reservoir cap and become one piece before being screwed into the reservoir. I'm not really sure on the crush washer, but I think I ran into that as well the last time I did an oil change.

·
Registered
3,605 Posts
The top nub clips onto the Oil filter reservoir cap! The crush washer goes on the Oil drain plug.

·
Registered
186 Posts
Check the following video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_w2E5z7MazU

It requires a little bit force to push the filter and filter reservoir cap together.

-------------
Part numbers:
-------------
11427510717 (Genuine BMW Oil Filter - Made by Hengst)
07119903199 (Genuine BMW Oil Drain Plug M12X1.5-ZNS)
07119963151 (Oil Drain Plug Copper Washer)

---------------------
Aftermarket Oil Filters: