BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. I'm fairly new to the M5 world but have owned my car and drove it for about 3,000 miles so far. I have researched oil consumption and yet again, there are so many different opinions about the matter. When i picked up my car the check service messages was on and on the way home i finally learned how to check the display messages and it said oil level low. I asked the previous owner and he said you didn't have to change the oil until every 15,000 miles which didn't make sense to me since the car was basically asking for it. I did a oil change/filter right away. It's been about 1,400 miles since my recent oil change and it went from .9 to .4 already. Not going to lie but i have driven it as a daily driver and almost 50% of the time i'm in M mode (i dont know if it matters) and have got on it a lot. Is it normal to consume this much? I honestly don't care, i just want to make sure that it's normal to eat up oil like that. The reason i posted this is because of all of the different answers i've seen.

·
Registered
759 Posts
Become familiar and follow the instructions in your owner's manual to the letter. Don't add until the iDrive asks for it. Overfilling is just as bad as not enough. You have a full litre to play with, readings from 0.1 to 1.0 are fine. As for drastically dropping readings, you really need to determine how much oil your particular engine uses through experience. Sounds like your baseline after an oil change is 0.9. You are watching the reading drop 0.5 litre in 1,400 miles to 0.4. I believe this is within oil consumption limits for this engine--in other words, normal. Continue watching the level to determine if the consumption rate is steady, hopefully so, and keep oil handy for when the car asks for it.