BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been on here for 8 months, so I think it's time I offically introduce myself lol. I'm Mark. Joined the M5board back in September. Meant to do this back then, but have been busy with so much with work, car, life etc. While I'm new to the M5, I'm not new to the E39 platform.

In mid July 2013, I bought my first BMW. A 2002 540i sedan. Two previous owners, black on black with 91k miles. Sports package, rear sunshades, DSP, folding rear seats, and best of all, a 6-speed manual! Car spent it's entire life in California so there was no worries about rust.

Did a ton of preventative work on the car such as timing chain guides, cooling and suspension overhauls. Drove like a dream after it was all done. Added the M5's illuminated shifter knob, euro armrest, AUX input and M-subs with Bavsound stage 1 kit for the DSP.

Sadly I barely had the car for two years. End of July of 2015 I was out for a drive way out in the backroads and hit a rock the size of a basketball at 50mph! Rock was so perfectly blended into the road with the lighting at the time of day I didn't see it until it was too late. Hit it with the drivers front wheel. Popped the tire, destroyed the rim and shock, partially mushroomed the strut mount. Hit the rocker panel leaving a massive dent and set off the side airbags. Amazingly the car still ran, so I managed to swap the full size spare on and nurse it to a place to call a tow home.

Not surprisingly it was totaled. I pulled the parts I bought such as the euro armrest, m-subs, bavsound speakers, illuminated shifter and other stuff before insurance took it. Wasn't going to let some sleazy junkyard profit from my loss. Was so bummed, but swore one day I'd get another E39.