BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok i found a 2000 m5 for carbon black on black. I posted recently about it. I have a few questions since im a m5 newb coming from a 330. First off the car has 60,000 miles on it, it has a dinan chip, dinan exhaust, and dinan CF CAI :) . The car is mint inside and out and the previous owner has NY CCA stickers on it, so he took care of it, maybe hes even on the board?. How long does the m5 engine last, when should i expect repairs at what miles?. The car was meticously cared for once again every 2000 miles it went in for service. Could these engines go more than 150,000 miles no problem?. Also, the car eats alot of oil 10w-60 and when i get on it a little bit occasionaly black smoke comes out of the exhaust? is the oil to rich?. What ways can i cut down adding oil to the car would thicker viscosity work? Sorry for the huge amounts of questions. Thanks alot guys.

-Lou

·
Registered
2,099 Posts
My 2002 M5 (at 52k miles) drinks a quart of 5w-30 every 3000-4000 miles. That is normal. 2000 models use more because of a different ring design. That can cause the occasional black smoke and is probably not abnormal. The 10w-60 is recommended for 2000s and should be less usage than 5w-30. Oil usage is also dependent on driving style and break-in. Stop and go traffic and track days dramatically increase oil consumption.

The jury is still out on real high mileage M5s but several on the board are reaching 100k miles with no major problems. A CPO or aftermarket warranty is highly recommended. This should cut way down on repair costs for sensor repair, VANOS issues, etc.

·
Registered
27 Posts
My car uses a litre of 10w60 oil every 650 miles. I have had the car since 90k miles and it now has 106000 and still feels like a new car... Think you have got a way to go yet :)