BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi All,

I have just purchased a really nice E39 M5 in Le Mans Blue. Having owned a few CSLs, an E46 M3 and quite a few other performance cars I decided to go for the M5 as I am now in a position where I don't do many miles a year and wanted a car with heritage, history and at the bottom of the depreciation curve. Having owned the car for nearly a week I am truly amazed how good the car is. Effortless torque, lots of power, nice gearchange, sharp handling and all the toys.

The car is in very good condition but I am no expert so I plan on sending it to Sal at Evolve (who also did a great job on my last CSL) for an inspection to see if anything needs doing.

I don't plan on any modifications right now but would like to make a few little changes. The car has the original nav unit so I bought a mk4 unit off ebay which should be arriving tomorrow. Is it easy to swap the units over? Also, can I add digital TV to the original head unit and how do I do it? I'd basically like to have the latest nav with speed cameras, maps etc., digital tv, tv in motion. What do people generally do about phone? I'm wondering if it's worth retrofitting BMW bluetooth but it seems very expensive considering one can go down the Parrot phone kit route. As for ipod is IntraveeII the best solution? I was thinking that if I go for a Parrot Bluetooth kit, the latest ones have ipod connectivity but I'm worried it will be a bit buggy.

Finally, the std sound system seems decent enough but is it easy just to upgrade the speakers for better sound? I don't want to go down the route of subs/amps etc. just better sound. The car didn't have any of the sound upgrade options.

Thanks for any help and look forward to contributing to the forum.

Anis

·
Registered
6,642 Posts
Welcome to the S62 side,mate!:M5thumbs:

We need some pics,of course!

Good idea to drop by at Sal's that he can have a look at it!