BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
3,825 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know there has been many discussions about what type of engine oil to use, but I am stuck between 2.

I called one dealer and their mechanic shop suggests BMW 5w30 synthetic
Avus auto suggests the same.

I called another dealer and their shop uses 10w60 for all M cars.

I have 87k miles. Which route should I go. And my car does not burn oil. Your help is appreciated.

Thanks all... Happy holidays...

·
Registered
3,825 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks guys... 10w60 it is.. In that case Avus auto and pacific BMW should do themselves a favor and fire themselves. I can't believe I listened to idiots. I've been using 5w30 for 4 years now.. Hope it won't be an issue with the engine.

·
Registered
3,825 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
That's the dilemma. I chame my oil every 3k. If the car did burn oil I wouldn't even know. People would argue hay 5k is minimum, I spent my $ so I changed every 3k. So I kind of stuck..

The question is, is there any harm to the engine if I change now to 10w60

·
Registered
1,599 Posts
The only way is to get an oil analysis. My 03 with 60k burns Mobil 5w30 at about a quart every 1k.

That's the dilemma. I chame my oil every 3k. If the car did burn oil I wouldn't even know. People would argue hay 5k is minimum, I spent my $ so I changed every 3k. So I kind of stuck..

The question is, is there any harm to the engine if I change now to 10w60

·
Registered
3,825 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
So the real question is, do I switch to 10w60, or continue with 5w30

·
Registered
147 Posts
So the real question is, do I switch to 10w60, or continue with 5w30