BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well guys im sorry to neglect my car but today i had a quite a scary experience and i dont know what happened and why yes im a total newbie to the M5. Last night check engine oil level light appeared on the dash i was on the way home when it occured. So i went to the nearest gas station adnn they didnt have 10w-60 oil as labeled as needed in my engine bay. So i go to start the car this morning the engine churns over but no go, i then run to a gas station and put a quart of 10w-60 engine starts right up. Now was this due to the oil level? or is there something wrong with the engine? Also, do i have to use 10w-60 oil in my car?. Its a 2000 M5 with 59,000 miles. Also, an oil change was done almost 2,000 miles ago, and the inspection lights are green. Thanks for the help!

-Lou

·
Registered
44 Posts
///MLOVER! said:
Well guys im sorry to neglect my car but today i had a quite a scary experience and i dont know what happened and why yes im a total newbie to the M5. Last night check engine oil level light appeared on the dash i was on the way home when it occured. So i went to the nearest gas station adnn they didnt have 10w-60 oil as labeled as needed in my engine bay. So i go to start the car this morning the engine churns over but no go, i then run to a gas station and put a quart of 10w-60 engine starts right up. Now was this due to the oil level? or is there something wrong with the engine? Also, do i have to use 10w-60 oil in my car?. Its a 2000 M5 with 59,000 miles. Also, an oil change was done almost 2,000 miles ago, and the inspection lights are green. Thanks for the help!

-Lou