BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello M5BOARD, I'm looking to get an E63 M6 or a Mercedes C63 AMG. What things should I look for when test driving an M6? Should I avoid SMG or get a manual? The closest 6MT I've found is 1500 miles away from me (2008 black on brown, 38K miles). Is this car really that expensive to maintain? I know the C63 AMG is pretty bulletproof but I love the S85. Should I get the M6 or is this car too expensive to maintain? Yes I used the search function but wanted some input on C63 vs M6. Thanks!

·
Registered
759 Posts
Yes, the S85/SMG is quite expensive to maintain, especially since you will be buying pre-owned and not knowing how the car has been driven/maintained by previous owner(s). A MT E63 will be more reliable, but you will still have the clutch to maintain. The Mercedes will surely be more bulletproof just based on reputation, but I have no experience owning/maintaining any AMG car. The only way to decide which is best for you is to drive several examples of each before making your decision.

·
Registered
66 Posts
I've had my 2008 M6 for about four months, and it's currently at the dealership for the following:

Oil cooler
Driver side-view mirror won't adjust
Driver-side lumbar support inop

It's still under a second-party warranty until November, but I'm a bit nervous how things are going to go after that.

·
Registered
1,879 Posts
I had a CLK55 brand new, which I really enjoyed and had no problems. However, the SL550 and (2) S500's owned had a lot of difficulty with transmissions and air suspension failures-all of which cost some time and money. I just traded in my 2010 M6 for a new F10 M5 that was loaded mainly because of some anxiety regarding maintenance so I understand your concern.