BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all -- this is my first question on the forum as I just picked up my '03 in August! With Christmas rolling around, I am looking to treat myself to a complete media overhaul. I am definitely replacing my Nav unit with a Dynavin. I am also looking to change out the speakers, dsp amp, and subwoofers. I don't need the CD player any more either.

My knowledge base on the nuances of the e39 M5's stereo and on car stereos as a whole is limited, so any help is appreciated.

As far as end goals for the project:

I would like to keep my budget around $800-$1000 for all components aside from the Dynavin.
From the sub(s), I am looking for overall improved SQ as well as volume, but I don't want it to sound like I am obviously running an aftermarket sub (if that makes sense).
I would like to go to a new amp for the mids/tweeters.
Being a college student, I have to move quite a bit of stuff a few times a year so the sub(s) and the enclosure need to be removable.
I do not want to make any major permanent changes to the car, as this always makes be nervous.

I have searched around, but haven't found anyone who has performed all of these changes. If someone else can point me to an example, please do.

Finally to my questions:

Is my budget reasonable?

Will the process be more straightforward by doing all of this at the same time?

Can I keep the stock wiring and just change out components?

Will I be able to keep the steering wheel controls?

I have no working knowledge of quality in current car audio equipment, so can anyone give some recommendations for components?

I will be doing the work myself, so is this doable for someone with a limited understanding of car stereos?

Thank you all in advance for the help. If you have any suggestions, I would definitely like to hear them :biggrin:

·
Registered
1,516 Posts
Search denniscooper. He is the SME (subject matter expert)

·