BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I have a code that is preventing a successful emissions test (P1117) Mass or Volume air flow circuit low input. Is there a wa to clean these or am I stuck purchasing new ones an an astronomical price?

Thanks!

·
Registered
4,069 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
OK, so I did order the MAF's Kevin recommended above, I also reviewed what Mailman posted. I'm kind of a "stock person" when it comes to modern (or more modern than carburetor) BMWs but my question is the AlphaN product seems a bit more complicated and expensive when compared to spending 249.00 for a pair of OEM sensors. Again, I'm not an expert by any means so if there are things I'm missing please chime in, and thanks for all the comments. Owning a new-to-me 20 yr old M5 is an experience- mostly enjoyable so far :cool:

·
Registered
2,468 Posts
OK, so I did order the MAF's Kevin recommended above, I also reviewed what Mailman posted. I'm kind of a "stock person" when it comes to modern (or more modern than carburetor) BMWs but my question is the AlphaN product seems a bit more complicated and expensive when compared to spending 249.00 for a pair of OEM sensors. Again, I'm not an expert by any means so if there are things I'm missing please chime in, and thanks for all the comments. Owning a new-to-me 20 yr old M5 is an experience- mostly enjoyable so far :cool:
Based on your reply, I would just stick with new MAF's. I'm glad someone suggested it over cleaning them. Not worth the hassle IMO. Way back when, they were more expensive. The OEM Bosch units have come down in price, making it a better option to simply replace them.

Good luck and let us know if the problem is solved.

·
Registered
219 Posts
I'm a recent supporter of FCP Euro (Next day shipping flat rate for $20? Yes please!), and I am a Bremi fan for ignition coils. Found these:

$72.89 each. (Too good to be true? Maybe.)