BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
3,999 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Here is a simple DIY I created for fellow board members to remove and clean their MAF sensors.

**I'm not a professional, so do this at your own risk.
**Be careful, MAF Sensors are delicate and sensitive. Handle them with care.

----------------------

Time: 15-20 minutes
Tools needed: Screw Driver, can of CRC Electronics Cleaner, cloth and/or rag.

MAF sensors, after a while, tend to have a dirt film built up. I usually clean them every 30K miles or about once a year.

1. Pop open your hood and locate the MAF Sensors. There are two of them, located on either side of the engine. They are located on the tubing that connects the air intakes to the engine plenum.
2. First disconnect the MAF sensor from the cable. Gently push in on the little ridges to unseat the cable, and pull outwards.
3. Using a screw driver, unscrew the MAF sensor from the housing. **Note** be careful with these screws, they are small and very light. A misstep can result in a screw dropping into the engine bay.
4. Grip the MAF sensor ending, and gently pull outwards. Be careful with it since these are senstive.
5. Using the can of CRC spray, spray the metal wire looking components. One of them is fully exposed on the interior, the other is in a small indent on the inside.
6. Set the MAF Sensor on a rag and allow it to air dry.
7. When dry, re-install everything in reverse order. Then proceed to do the other sensor.

Attachments

·
Registered
7,327 Posts
Thanks for the detailed write-up and pictures!

·
Registered
755 Posts
thanks. added to diy.

·
Registered
4,143 Posts
What are the causes of dirty mad sensors on our cars? How could we know.

·
Registered
3,999 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
What are the causes of dirty mad sensors on our cars? How could we know.