BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
1,047 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
If you are thinking of leasing an M5, the residual in 36 months after purchase is set at 59%. To compare, a 530's residual after the same period of time is 60%.

Appologize if this is old news

Cheers

·
Registered
1,294 Posts
6speed said:
If you are thinking of leasing an M5, the residual in 36 months after purchase is set at 59%. To compare, a 530's residual after the same period of time is 60%.

Cheers
Do you know what the money factor is?

·
Registered
4,412 Posts
The Canadian residual on a 36 month lease is only 54%

·
Registered
703 Posts
Terk said:
The Canadian residual on a 36 month lease is only 54%
yes, unfortunately

·
Registered
2,071 Posts
Since the full warranty and maintenance in the US is for 48 months, wouldn't it make sense to lease for the 4th year -- unless you want a new car every 3 years? I am new to leasing, but was considering it for this purchase.

·
Moderator Emeritus
10,698 Posts
If you get a first year car, I suggest a 3 year lease so you can hop into one of the latter production cars and enjoy the running improvements they will make.

·
Registered
1,114 Posts
6speed said:

Cheers
The 60% residual for 530 is a result of an aggressive leasing program designed to make the cars favorable to lease. It is a "subsidized" rate by BMW. The M5 is a hot car and will sell itself, therefore, they do not need to "bump up" the residual value to help push sales.

Leasing beyond 36 months doesn't mke any sense, since you are paying much more than the rate of depreciation at that point. The ideal time frame for leasing is between 24-36 mobths. (39 months is ok ONLY if is based on a 36 month residual) but no more

·
Registered
907 Posts
The 36 month M5 residual is +2% (61%) if you only need 12k miles a year like me. The highest dealer "BUY" rate (for the non-incentive vehicles ) in my area is .00280x2400 gives you APR.

MJ

·
Registered
33 Posts