BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi.

I'm new to this forum, although I've been browsing for a couple of months.

I'm looking at buying an E28 M5 (SA spec), but the car that I've viewed has a starting problem.

The engines swings but does not start up, and when it does start up, it has a rough idle and then dies down again. I've been told that the fuel pump is at fault.

I've read up on the fuel pump problem, but is there anything else that could be a possible cause? I'm not much of a mechanic, and don't want to settle on a car that's going to cost me an arm and a leg to repair.

Any advice will be much appreciated.

Thanks

Ryan

·
Registered
486 Posts
I would suggest bringing the car to a good mechanic that can diagnose the starting problem. You may get advice foom some of the experienced members of this board, however, they will need more information.

I bought my car for a resonable price with it running rough. The spark plug wires were crossed. Most solutions to problems after that were, unfourtunately, not quite that easy.

·
Registered
1,054 Posts
potenially a alternator problem or maybe a starter problem. Both my brother and my uncle have owned E28 M5's and they have loved them. Easy to see out of fairly reliable, tight steering, decent on gas mileage. Good Luck!!

·
Registered
483 Posts
Hi.

I'm new to this forum, although I've been browsing for a couple of months.

I'm looking at buying an E28 M5 (SA spec), but the car that I've viewed has a starting problem.

The engines swings but does not start up, and when it does start up, it has a rough idle and then dies down again. I've been told that the fuel pump is at fault.

I've read up on the fuel pump problem, but is there anything else that could be a possible cause? I'm not much of a mechanic, and don't want to settle on a car that's going to cost me an arm and a leg to repair.

Any advice will be much appreciated.

Thanks

Ryan