BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2,182 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello,

I want to start with a big thank you to all the members. I have been lurking for 4 months, been a member for a little over a month. When I started lurking I did not know anything about the E39 M5, other than the fact that I always wanted one.

I am still a noob and am learning everyday, LOVE the search function and have used the crap out of it.

I have just put a deposit on a 2002 with under 60K miles.

The prepurchase inspection has noted two main issues:

1- front brake rotors warped ($850 for both front rotors, pads and sensors)

2- "Steering link" needs to be replaced ($1400)

Can anyone explain what the steering link issue is?

The car was already in the shop to replace a thermostat and thrust bushing. The 60K mile Inspection II has already been done. At 20K miles (years ago) both side Vanos selonoids and both Cats were replaced, as well as CPS was also replaced at the same time.

Other than that, I seem to have found a relatively low mileage clean example, only time will tell if it is a Cherry or a "lemon". After ooking for several weeks and almost pulling a trigger on a few cars, I realized that even Service history and PPI only go so far, you have to make the best decision and pick the best car for the money and take your chances which is what I feel I am doing, since the car is out of town.

I hope to pick the car up next week and any pointers or advice you may have for taking delivery would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

·
Registered
410 Posts
Congrats on your purchase!

·
Registered
5,532 Posts
Welcome !!

Seems like a pretty sorted car, well done !

I would say the steering link mention in your PPI is either/both tie rods 10 or 11, maybe even the centre link 9. It's quite a straightforward job, 2 hours I reckon tops, but 9 is quite expensive. May as well change 6 while doing this stuff.