779 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Thought i would make a thread about my Bearing swap

2008 M5
6 speed
63k miles
5-6k oil changes

No track days ever

Bearings are toast, i caught it before they spun, i saw the cooper in the oil and pulled the engine the next day in my shop at home

I hope to get it going by the 1st of the year!

·
Registered
35 Posts
is the main indication the copper bits in the oil ? Assume this is a big job as seems serious taking the engine out .
is there anyway i can get my garage to test weather i need them doing ?

·
Registered
1,934 Posts
I'm not technical, but why is it that the Upper Bearings seem more worn than the lower ones?

·
Registered
1,024 Posts
Replace the slave cylinder!

·
Registered
779 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
For changing only the rod bearings it is not necessary to remove the engine.

- Antti -
While it may not be required it is much easier to work on the engine on the stand. If you have the ability to pull the engine I would.

Fighting gravity sucks and staring up at the bottom of an engine for hours on end is no fun at all.

I talked to a couple guys who have done this and they all said before they did the rob bearing swap they didn't think it would be easier to pull the engine but if they had to do it over they would pull the engine the 2nd time around

I totally understand why now, more work yes. Easier to work on yes and my neck isn't killing me

·
Registered
1,624 Posts
What type of oil? How long have you owned the car? That wear is completely unacceptable for 63k miles.

·
Registered
779 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
i bought it with 27k and the previous owner had like 4 oil changes.

I have done oil changes with 5w40 every 5-6k miles. Yeah it sucks but what can you do

·
Registered
1,624 Posts
I have done oil changes with 5w40 every 5-6k miles. Yeah it sucks but what can you do