BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
259 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, nothing new here, my M5 has the shimmy that a lot of us have experienced. At about 50MPH, I could feel the shimmy in the steering wheel and I just lived with it as I know it's a known issue. So this past weekend I put on a set of 15MM spacers, mostly for appearance. I like the look of the wheels out a little bit as opposed to stock, and I get 2 side effects that I didnt expect:

1. A little but of understeer, which is fine with me. It loosened it up just a little and I like it.

2. Here's the suprise, the shimmy is all but gone! :wroom:

I can understand the understeer, but does the shimmy going away make sense? I don't understand the physics of it all, but whatever it is it worked (for now anyway)

Anyone else experience this? :confused2

·
Registered
150 Posts
I have no experience with spacers on M5's, but have used them before on other cars with no ill effects. I don't know why the shimmy would be gone, but I'd love to see some pictures of the car with spacers. I assume you put them on the front?

·
Registered
150 Posts
billrM5 said:
nope, wheel spacers on the back. i'll post some pictures shortly
Wow 15mm's on the back! I was thinking that I might be able to get away with 5mm without any rubbing. They are pushed out pretty far as it is. I absolutely love the look of wheels with a "dish" pushed out as far as possible without going beyond the fender.

Let's see some pics!

·
Registered
25 Posts
billrM5 said:
OK, nothing new here, my M5 has the shimmy that a lot of us have experienced. At about 50MPH, I could feel the shimmy in the steering wheel and I just lived with it as I know it's a known issue. So this past weekend I put on a set of 15MM spacers, mostly for appearance. I like the look of the wheels out a little bit as opposed to stock, and I get 2 side effects that I didnt expect: