BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

So recently I've had a consistent squeaking sound from what I'm assuming is power steering belt/pulley system, it gets more pronounced when I turn the wheel, but yesterday I was driving and turned on the AC, which made the squeaking louder and faster. 2 minutes later the AC stopped blowing cold air, the squeaking stopped and I lost all power steering. SO yea. AC and power steering are lost, and I checked the PS reservoir and it was full. So I'm thinking its an Idler pulley and belts? I'm new to my car so I haven't looked around there. What should I consider addressing? Not really thrilled about the $700 dollar full Drive belt kit. What's the process like for a DIY?

·
Registered
323 Posts
I did both belts and pulleys a couple months back for far less, close to $100. The Kit you looked at was all BMW parts and included tensioners, which you probably dont need. Here are the essentials:

INA-5320342100 drive belt pulley x 2 from FCP $20 each
11287841228 Idler Pulley x 1 From ECS $27
11287838226 Water Pump/Alternator belt x 1 from ECS $17
11287835483 AC/PS belt x 1 from ECS $9

Also, there is a good DIY in the DIY section that will guild you through it. Recommend getting very familiar with it but its not a hard project to do.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I did both belts and pulleys a couple months back for far less, close to $100. The Kit you looked at was all BMW parts and included tensioners, which you probably dont need. Here are the essentials:

INA-5320342100 drive belt pulley x 2 from FCP $20 each
11287841228 Idler Pulley x 1 From ECS $27
11287838226 Water Pump/Alternator belt x 1 from ECS $17
11287835483 AC/PS belt x 1 from ECS $9

Also, there is a good DIY in the DIY section that will guild you through it. Recommend getting very familiar with it but its not a hard project to do.