BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
617 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I've been hunting this for about 4 months when I started noticing more soot on bank 2's exhaust tips.

INPA readout remains this way, even after swapping the MAF with bank1 (adaptations reset in between swaps).

MAFs (029 Bosc) < 1 year old
Pre-Cat O2 < 1 year old

This doesn't seem like a vacuum or ail leak related to the intake, since results are only affecting bank2.

My question is: Is this reminiscent of an exhaust leak? Is this where I should concentrate my efforts? From exhaust manifold down to the O2 bung area?

Thanks for any help. I'm hoping for a smoke test at my indy this week, but still wanted some knowledge before I went in to talk with him.

Attachments

·
Registered
9,963 Posts
Do you have a code? Do you have an X-pipe? You are calling it lean and the adaption looks like it is adding fuel and the exhaust pipe says rich. That sounds like something is lying and the only thing that comes to mind is the O2 sensor. Think that exhaust leak is a good guess and worth looking at.

The O2 senor bungs crack, many have had that problem, good place to start. Do you have any idea how to find an exhaust leak? Do you have a compressor that the air pressure can be controlled?

·
Registered
617 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
I am stock aside from Tubi Rumore cat back. I agree the INPA is confusing, correcting for what it believes is lean and adding fuel when it shouldn't. I have to visit my Indy for a smoke test where he will drop the exhaust.

I cleaned the area around the bungs with some polish and 0000 steel wool, but could not see any visible cracks or pinholes.

I could swap the o2 sensor and see if the pattern follows it. I hadn't thought the sensors would misread but it wouldn't surprise me.

Thanks, sailor

·
Registered
9,963 Posts