BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
333 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So I recently refreshed the front suspension except for the struts. As expected, the car wouldn't drive nearly as straight, so I decided to get an alignment today.
I tried looking for an alignment spec that had something to do with mm, but the only spec I could find was the dinan ones that showed values in degrees.

Does this look okay? Or is there something I should worry about?

·
Registered
4,081 Posts
The choice of using mm is... odd. I've never seen that personally...

Also, if I'm reading that right, having toe out in the rear is beyond wrong

For reference:

On a car w/o camber plates, front is fixed (so -0.7-ish is normal) and caster is fixed as well. Toe, I prefer 0.03-0.05 in On stock bushings, I'd be ok going up to 0.08-0.1

Rear, the camber is out of spec, I usually shoot for -1.8 - -2.0. For toe, I like at most 0.03-4 in

YMMV

·
Registered
122 Posts
I work as a tech apprentice at a bmw dealership. I do alignments on the daily. On stock cars front camber and caster is fixed so we don’t adjust that, typically it’s dialed in already for green. Rear camber however is adjustable, and yours is set to cause a slight excessive wear on your rear inner tires. Toe all around is set well so the car will track straight and true.

·
Registered
333 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I work as a tech apprentice at a bmw dealership. I do alignments on the daily. On stock cars front camber and caster is fixed so we don’t adjust that, typically it’s dialed in already for green. Rear camber however is adjustable, and yours is set to cause a slight excessive wear on your rear inner tires. Toe all around is set well so the car will track straight and true.
Okay, so I won't be touching the toe for now as I am seeing a somewhat neutral steering currently.