BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How would I tell if my clutch needs replacement? What signs do I need to look for?

Also what is the average cost I can expect to pay for parts/labor for replacing it? (stock/OEM parts)..

Thanks!

·
Registered
837 Posts
I believe it will start slipping, I dont know if their is any other signs, very well be , but I am a novice, I am sure others will chime in with more technical advice, Josh

·
Registered
1,204 Posts
Yes, it will start slipping but, mine slips when it's hot and it has done that for about 10,000 miles.

Once it cools down, it's fine.

I have had one clutch replaced at 59,000 miles and am now at almost 100,000 miles now so obviously, I don't track or abuse the car.

When I KNEW I had to have mine replaced was when at about 60MPH, it wouldn't go and started slipping dramatically.

About $1500 to replace an OEM clutch - run a search and you'll find about a thousand threads on clutch options from different companies including UUC and SPEC.

Basically, if you don't beat the car or track it, the OEM clutch seems to be OK - not great and if you do, UUC and SPEC have different versions and options based on your driving habits and your wallet.

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I never track my car and don't drive very hard.

As for slipping, I can still romp on in 2nd and 3rd all the way up to redline on the freeway on ramp with no slip at all. I can punch it at 60 mph and it doesn't slip there either.

I have to drive to Yosemite in 2 weeks, and I'm kind of scared, as I don't want the clutch to go while I'm driving there or back. I'd prefer to deal with the replacement when I get back.

·
Registered
977 Posts
Hobbez said:

As for slipping, I can still romp on in 2nd and 3rd all the way up to redline on the freeway on ramp with no slip at all. I can punch it at 60 mph and it doesn't slip there either.