BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
421 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all i'm a new member here and my M5 has yet to arrived.
However, I have a question regards to P400.
How does the P400 works? Does it restricts the engine from reaching max RPM, shut down half bank of cylinder (though I don't think that's what BMW would do), or restricting the air/fuel going into the engine?

·
Registered
13 Posts
I am no expert
But I would think it reduces the timing and the fuel

·
Registered
1,315 Posts
dteray1 said:
Hi all i'm a new member here and my M5 has yet to arrived.
However, I have a question regards to P400.
How does the P400 works? Does it restricts the engine from reaching max RPM, shut down half bank of cylinder (though I don't think that's what BMW would do), or restricting the air/fuel going into the engine?
It restricts the throttle butterflies in each cylinder to 80% (maybe 90%?). P500 opens them all the way.

·
Registered
516 Posts
90% butterfly opening

·
Registered
421 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
So this means that I can rev all the way up to the red line except that at WOT the throttle will be open at only 90%, right?

·
Registered
129 Posts
I was told that the Vanos oil delivery system also plays a roll in P400 to P500 mode. Maybe the oil pressure is changed?

·
Registered
178 Posts
Finally! Someone asks!

This has been on my mind for two weeks now, just never gotten around to posting it. There has to be more than simply 90% throttle, I mean 100+hp from 10% more throttle body opening? That'd be crazy.

Looking forward to hearing the answers...

·
Registered
902 Posts
joshkerr said:
I was told that the Vanos oil delivery system also plays a roll in P400 to P500 mode. Maybe the oil pressure is changed?
From what I understand about the way VANOS works, it basically varies oil pressure in the head to achieve variable valve timing; More oil pressure = larger valve lift = higher performance.