BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I am brand new in the BMW M5 world and totally novice in mechanic. I just acquired an amazingly clean M5 mod 1999. It has only 45,000kms and was parked most of the time in a garage (the previous owner was a pilot for Gulf Air airline).

I checked the whole car through the local dealer and even did a main maintenance to be sure everything was ok on the car. They confirmed that the car was fine. However, I have one concern:

The acceleration is not frank and have little "holes" during smooth acceleration. Also, if I accelerate full throttle, I feel that the car does not give all the power it has. For instance, sometime, just by releasing the accelerator a little bit, more power is being delivered for a couple of second.

All filters have been changed, as well as all the spark plugs.

Does anyone have felt the same thing on their M5? I would really appreciate your help! I related my issue to the Power loss thread (http://www.m5board.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=54692) but I am not sure. My dealer does not seem to know what is going on and told me everything is fine. I am now thinking of simply changing the MAFS but I would like to make sure this will cure my problem...

Thanks in advance to all of you!

Pascal
<!-- / message -->

·
Registered
39 Posts
Pascal

Clean the Mass air flow meters (MAF). I had the same issue, but after I cleaned both MAFS, the car is amazingly fast again. There is a lot written about this issue in this forum. Do a search on MAF or LMM.

BR
Ice

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Ice,

I will start with a simple "cleaning operation" as posted earlier and will see the difference. Do you think changing the MAF is required anyway? I have no idea what the cost is for those things...

Pascal

·
Registered
120 Posts