BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
I am looking at a 2006 m5 with 140k and a salvage title. I assume the car is only worth 6500-8000 as it is rebuilt. I want this car for weekend road rally’s and track days? Would this be a good car. I would love a low miles one but I know one with 50k miles on it will probably run you 20k or so and the motor could still blow at 60k Miles and no Warrenty? Any suggestions? I’m new to everything BMW but I always loved this car. I know they require a lot of maitnance and care. Thank you!

·
Registered
942 Posts
Please don’t get e60 m5 as your first bmw. Especially as a track/fun car. Will scar you forever.

·
Registered
265 Posts
Please don’t get e60 m5 as your first bmw. Especially as a track/fun car. Will scar you forever.
This....

Money pit especially if you are going to track it. Holy smokes!

I have mine and just joy ride praying to the car God's that they take care of me.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,405 Posts
IF you take your car to a shop to get work done then I agree with the above.

HOWEVER, IF you're a DIY able to pull engines, trans, swap rod bearings, etc. then the e60 m5 is a CHEAP ticket to an awesome car. The M5 is my first bmw. It's my daily driver and has been to a track last year (plan to do this more often this year). My car came with a warranty so I used a shop to get new vanos solenoids, clutch/flywheel, steering rack, IAs, etc. As soon as that was done I canceled the warranty to get some $ back. That helped with all the work I did myself: rod bearings, TAs, injectors, etc. I knew exactly what I was getting into and have been very happy thus far.

·
Registered
1,917 Posts
Hello,