BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Please read before replying. I am a bmw tech for years, i've rebuilt multiple S62s, I know these cars inside and out.
This is my personal car that i have rebuilt the engine on(stock rebuild). Everything was down to bare block. Driven the car for 4000kms now. The car pulls hard as [email protected], no noises no issues, runs smooth as it should. Everything on the car is brand new. There is no item that hasn't been replaced during the rebuild. Everything was put on genuine BMW parts, not worldpac. There are no codes.
I have taken the car apart recently to recheck the cooling system, i have removed oil pan and oil pump to check if all is good, no issues found anywhere.

WHY THE [email protected] is my coolant temp at 105 celcius and oil temp 2-3mm to the right of the middle under normal driving when its cold outside. 8deg celcius. On the highway everything goes back to normal, ones i am in abit of traffic or street driving it starts climbing. I've had so many of these cars before, they should not be running this hot unless it's +30 degrees out. The fan clutch comes on i can hear it. The electric fan does not. I tested it and its dead but i don't think it should even come on when its this cold out.

I have no idea what to do. I'm about to sell the car, this is driving me crazy. IF anyone has experienced something like this please let me know. THANKS. PIC of my car.

Attachments

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Um. I think the answer is in your post.
The fan clutch doesn't do the main portion of the cooling. It's the electric aux fan that does the vast majority of the cooling when stationary.
When you are moving, it would be the air blowing to the radiator that cools the car.

Did you pull the codes? Any aux fan codes? Or just test if the aux fan functions by turning on the AC. AC fan should start within some time.
If it doesn't, your aux fan is dead.