BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
242 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone here installed the ROTORA 12/4 piston brake kit on their M5.

Or has anyone installed an aftermarket brake kit? Any further comments on this? I asked this question before and most people commented that M5 brakes do just fine on the streets. And even for race track, they are also excellent.

Can the stopping power of the aftermarket brake kit be really felt as compared to the stock in order to justify it's cost?

·
Registered
3,263 Posts
Contact Simon at Evosport. That is what they have on their M5 and they promote and sell the product.
I have the Brembo system and love it. When considering the upgrade mod Active Autowerke,who did it, recommended Brembo.
I'm sure there are personal components in this discussion.
I did they 16" front rotors / 15" rears with fr. 6P and rr. 4P calipers. I'm no engineer but was told that 12P calipers have too much movement and creates flex which is not desired is a caliper. I have no idea if this is factual.

Good luck, M5Ranger

·
Registered
242 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks M5 Ranger.

Yup, I'm talking to Simon. So I wanted to hear from actual ROTORA customers.

So with your Brembo, how's the stopping power like 20% better something like that?

·
Registered
2,540 Posts
The stopping power of BMW's stock brakes will be the same as the Brembo. What you get with the Brembo is repeated resistance to fade.

·
Registered
350 Posts
1 or 2 people on here got the BBK from Brembo.

I honestly could not justify spending the money on it, but then again, some of these guys have some serious cash, so its nothing to them.

Reactions: JoeCaMotto

·
Registered
7,328 Posts
Member mishkinm5 has Brembos on his car. PM him for his assessment.

·
Registered
2,540 Posts
Lots more than 3, I can think of at least 10.

·
Registered
350 Posts
more than 3 people i know have it........theres plenty more