BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Today I took delivery of my '01 Royal Red/Caramel M5. I thought I would share a few observations and ask a few questions. So in no particular order...

The royal red is darker than I expected, but still beautiful.

The caramel interior is more orange than I expected, but not so much so that I'm upset.

The PDC is not so unattractive as to overpower its usefulness (i.e. I still recommend it).

This is the fastest car I've ever driven (no, I'm not a professional driver, it's just a personal observation)
It also stops amazingly fast and corners like something other than a 4000lb sedan. I'm planning on taking the M5 driving thing offered by BMW.

I heard the tires spin as I entered 4th gear. While this was impressive, I was surprised that the DSC didn't prevent that as it did thru gears 1-2-3 (yes, I was practically *trying* to trip the DSC). Any thoughts here would be appreciated.

On the 5500 RPM break-in limit...was that 1200 miles or 12 miles that I am supposed to wait?

Why did that Ford F-150 think he could hang with me, and why did he tailgate me shortly after being handed his ***?
FWIW, he started it...

In that vein, it's amazing how much you can do in 3rd gear. It's like the all-purpose gear.

Gearshift to the right and back is not reverse, but 6th gear (don't laugh, it's my first 6-speed). All the way left and up is reverse, just like it's marked (I've only made this mistake like three times tonight).

I didn't get to drive as much this afternoon/evening as I would have liked, but I'll be posting more thoughts and questions over the next few days I'm sure.

Thanks to everyone on this board for all the prepurchase/predelivery input.

-jay

'00 528i (now the wife has it to herself)
'01 Royal Red/Caramel M5 (grrrr!)

·
Registered
3,144 Posts