BMW M5 Forum and M6 Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
316 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Well, the time has come. I had been talking about this with my wife for a few months now. Basically, we have an agreement that I am allowed one 'fun' car--any car I like besides our daily drivers etc., and it was completely up to me as to what that car would be.

Six years ago I purchased that 'fun' car in a pristine 1997 Toyota Supra Turbo. The car was barely 2 years old, low miles, and became my project car. Over the next 5 years, I did everything to the car to make it unique in my eyes. Upping the horsepower, increasing handling, and improving the looks were my goals. And with the help of a very capable staff in AAP Motorsports, we succeeded in producing one of the most unique Supras in the country. With a custom all-metal widebody, as well as upping the horsepower to well over 650rwhp, this car was a complete beast!

However, as we get older, things change. My family has grown to include me, my wife, 2 beautiful young girls, and a boy due any day now. As you can imagine, the only person that every rode with me in the Supra was well.....me. My wife hated it because it was so loud, and my kids could barely fit in the back seat.

So after thinking about it and doing tons of research, I decided to sell my 'fun' car, ironically to the same guys who had helped me build it. It was time for a replacement, so off to the BMW dealership where I put down my deposit on a new M5. Now, when my new 'fun' car arrives, I can take my kids to school, go to the movies with my wife--heck, even she could drive it (she could not handle the carbon/carbon clutch in the Supra)! It seems like a win-win situation.